Film-TV 2: A Filming Exercise

I would like to start this off by saying, filming a documentary is not as easy as it looks! I’ve always ignorantly assumed that filming a documentary was a simple task; that all you really need is an interesting subject to follow around and everything else will naturally fall into place. Boy was I wrong! 

The task was to film our classmates as they discussed their projects. Sounds easy enough…WRONG AGAIN! I let my indecisiveness get the better of me. I couldn’t decide who to focus on, when to do it. As a result, it felt like I was always a step behind. Someone would say something noteworthy and/or interesting and by the time I pan the camera towards them, they would have been done saying what they wanted to. So, not wanting to lose another important moment again, I keep the camera locked on that same person and, of course, someone from across the room says something I wish I had filmed! Needless to say, I underestimated the level of concentration needed of me.

Here are a few things this exercise has taught:

  1. Pay great attention to how the interview is progressing
  2. Be quick and prepared to make decisions as to whether to keep the camera locked on the subject(s), pan somewhere else, etc
  3. Attempt to predict the subject’s movements or where his/her train of thought would eventually lead to

 

Leave a Reply

