Digital Storytelling Review

Goldilocks

Goldilocks is a part of a web series that is shot entirely using an iPhone 4 and iPod touch. I’ve watched it over a few times and I still don’t quite understand the plot of the video. Besides that, when watching the video, I noticed that some of the shots were filmed using a fish-eye lens. I didn’t like the idea of using a fish-eye lens mainly because I think that it makes the shots look amateur and the goofiness of the fish-eye effect made it lose its credibility and its seriousness. It just didn’t fit the tone of the video. Also, I thought the lighting and the resolution could have been better, but taking the fact that everything was shot using an iPhone or iPod touch into consideration, I thought they did a pretty good job. Subsequently, the footage had been shot extremely well, in terms of the steadiness of the shots, the framing, the camera composition as well as the camera angles. I thought they were clever with their use of ‘leading lines’ to help direct the audiences’ focus to the subject. In addition to that, I was impressed by the various camera angles used in the video. Take for instance the motorbike scene and the scene taken from under a wine glass. Finally, I like the concept of communicating through the lens of an iPhone, or any phone for that matter, and thus I do believe that this is a notable advancement for storytelling.

Sound of my voice

Sound of my voice is a movie trailer about a woman who came from the future. There were interactive pop ups throughout the trailer. These pop ups encouraged discussions about random objects or words mentioned by the characters as well as allowed viewers to educate themselves regarding the topics mentioned by directing them to specific web pages. Besides that, I thought that the right choice of music, accompanied by the clever use of mise-en-scene helped build the suspense really well. Despite all of that, I did feel that the structure of the movie trailer was very misleading as it featured scenes that potentially communicated themes like kidnapping, suicide, illness, religion and human sacrifice. Criticism apart, I thought it had an intriguing storyline and I would definitely catch the full movie when it’s out. Last but not least, I think that this is a significant development for storytelling. It always has been and always will be.

Taylor Swift’s “Eyes Open” Lyric Video

I was casually browsing through YouTube when I stumbled upon this lyric video. I thought the wordings and animation were really fun to watch and I liked how they were constantly in sync with the music. The only criticism I have would probably be that the images and/or writings were a little hard on the eyes every now and then. To illustrate my point, the illustrations were moving and changing a bit too fast and that the designs of the drawings or writings were a little too complicated and colourful. But all in all I really admire all the hard work and effort put into the piece. I trust that this is a significant development for storytelling, simply because I think it’s a compelling and innovative way to communicate.

2 comments
  1. I simply want to tell you that I’m newbie to weblog and definitely savored you’re web-site. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have fantastic posts. With thanks for revealing your webpage.

  2. Johnette said:

    Normally I don’t read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very great post.

Leave a Reply

